Ari Koivunen

Ari Koivunen
  • Ari Koivunen - vocals
  • Erkka Korhonen - guitars
  • Erkki Silvennoinen - bass
  • Vili Ollila - keyboards

Ari Koivunen is a Finnish heavy metal singer with a background of singing and playing drums in bands for several years. In 2005, he won the Finnish Karaoke Championships and was placed third in the Karaoke World Championships the same year. Ari is the winner of the Finnish “Idols” competition, which was his absolute breakthrough in 2007. Both in Finland and abroad he gained a lot of attention due to the fact that he mainly chose to perform metal and rock songs in this competition.

Ari‘s debut album Fuel For The Fire was released in 2007. The album went straight to the top of the Finnish album chart and stayed there for record-breaking 12 successive weeks. So far, the album has sold over 75.000 copies and has certified double platinum. Fuel For The Fire was released in Japan in October 2007. The songs on this album were written by several Finnish musicians such as Janne Joutsenniemi (Suburban Tribe, Stone), Jarkko Ahola (Teräsbetoni), Marco Hietala (Nightwish, Tarot), Timo Tolkki (Stratovarius) and Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica), among others. Recording musicians were Tuomas Wäinölä (Kotipelto, Nylon Beat), Mikko Kosonen (Maija Vilkkumaa), Nino Laurenne (Thunderstone), Mirka Rantanen (Thunderstone), Mikko Kaakuriniemi (Kotipelto), Pasi Heikkilä (45 Degree Woman) and Janne Wirman (Children Of Bodom).

Ari‘s live band was put together in spring 2007 mainly from people Ari has known for a longer time (guitarist Erkka Korhonen, bassist Erkki Silvennoinen and keyboardist Vili Ollila). Their first concert together took place in May 2007. Since then, the group has played over 100 gigs.

The band also contributed greatly to the songwriting for Ari‘s sophomore release Becoming and they naturally recorded the album together. It was produced by Nino Laurenne and Pasi Heikkilä, who already worked with the debut album. Luca Gargano (guitar) and Mauro Gargano (drums) were part of the band from the beginning until 2008 and also participated the recording session of the Becomingalbum.

The sophomore album of Ari Koivunen was released in Finland on June 11, 2008, and it has already proven to be a success in his home country. It debuted on Nº 1 on the Official Finnish album chart and received gold status (over 15 000 copies sold) after only one week’s sales. Becoming was released in Japan on June 25 and in Germany on October 10, 2008.

At the end of the year 2008 Ari joined the Finnish band AMORAL, who has released earlier three albums and now four albums with Ari Show Your Colors (2009), Beneath (2011), Fallen Leaves & Dead Sparrows (2014) and In Sequence (2016).

Ari performs in RASKASTA JOULUA since 2007 with a group of well known Finnish metal vocalists. He has performed also from 2015 in musicals in Musiikkiteatteri Palatsi (Finnish Music Theatre) in Tampere: ‘I Wanna Rock’ (Hanoi Rocks-story) started in January 2015,  ‘Autiotalossa’-musical (Dingo-story) started January 2016, ‘We Rock! Heavyrock Night’ in winter 2017 and ‘Raparperitaivas’ in autumn 2017.

In 2017 Ari founded together with Marco Hietala and JP Leppäluoto a new group called POWERLESS TRIO. They toured in concert halls in Finland in January and February 2018. Beside singing Ari also plays drums. The trio plays their own favorite classic metal and rock covers and are also entertaining the audience by telling personal stories related to the songs. POWERLESS TRIO performed at Sauna Classic festival in Tampere, Finland, July 14 2018.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Becoming / 2008

Ari Koivunen - Becoming
  • Album Info
  • 2008
  • Sony BMG

“Becoming” is the second studio album by Ari Koivunen, released on June 11, 2008. The record rose to the top of the official Finnish album chart immediately after the release. The sales of the album have also exceeded goldware (15,000 copies).

The album was produced by Nino Laurenne (Thunderstone) and Pasi Heikkilä (45 Degree Woman) at Sonic Pump Studios.

First single “Give Me a Reason” was released on May 5, 2008 entering the Finnish chart at position No. 3.  Second single “Tears Keep Falling” was released in digital format on August 11, 2008.

The Japanese version came out on June 25, 2008 via Sony Music and contains an exclusive track called “Fight Forever. The Finnish edition comes with the bonus track “The Evil That Men Do“, a cover song from the British heavy metal band Iron Maiden. Ari previously had performed the song during the 2007 Finnish Idols competition, but the album version is an acoustic arrangement and has a slightly altered organization of the lyrics.

Fuel For The Fire / 2007

Ari Koivunen - Fuel for the Fire
  • Album Info
  • 2007
  • Sony BMG

“Fuel for the Fire” is the first album by Ari Koivunen, the winner of the 2007 Finnish Idols competition, released on May 30, 2007. The first single from the album “Hear My Call” was released on May 11, 2007.

“Fuel for the Fire” is one of the fastest selling records in Finnish music and made history in the official Finnish charts in 2007, week 32, when it was the first official Finnish album being number one for 12 weeks in a row. The album was certified double platinum in Finland for sales in excess of 69,000 copies.

The album is produced by Nino Laurenne (Thunderstone) and Pasi Heikkilä (45 Degree Woman), and among the metal artists who have contributed material to the album are Timo Tolkki (ex Stratovarius, Revolution Renaissance), Marco Hietala (Nightwish, Tarot, Northern Kings), Janne Joutsenniemi (Suburban Tribe), Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica, Northern Kings) and Jarkko Ahola (Teräsbetoni, Ahola, Northern Kings).

Sonata Arctica included in their 2012 album “Stones Grow Her Name” the song composed by  Tony KakkoLosing My Insanity“, which he originally wrote for Koivunen‘s “Fuel for the Fire” album.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.