ORIGIN: SwedenFORMED: 2008LABEL: Spinefarm/Universal
    • Elize - Vocals
    • Henrik - Screams
    • Nils - Vocals
    • Olof - Guitars & Keys
    • Morten - Drums
    • Johan - Bass

AMARANTHE have carved their name into the annals of metal in capital letters. According to some sources “melodic death metal” and somewhere else pegged as “metalcore” Amaranthe keeps driving genre purists loopy. Reviews of Amaranthe’s style are varied, though they all acknowledge that they are mainly a subgenre of heavy metal. According to AllMusic, Amaranthe‘s musical style mixes death metal with melodic pop music, giving for a feel of metalcore overall. Lead singer Elize Ryd acknowledges the difficulties in trying to ascribe their music to one specific genre and describes Amaranthe‘s sound as “dance-rock with a taste of death and modern/melodic metal,” though she admits that, unlike death metal, their focus is on “positive energy” and “open[ing] up minds [and] give[ing] passion, strength and love”. MusicMight classifies the band as melodic death metal and power metal. Sputnikmusic’s overview of the band refers to them as an outfit that is a hybrid of metalcore and power metal, more specifically, combining heavy riffs and breakdowns with Ryd’s “soaring vocals.”

Formed in 2007 by Olof Mörck (Dragonland, Nightrage) and “Jake E” Lundberg (Dreamland, Dream Evil) in Gothenburg and sporting 3 singers, each with characteristics of their own, Amaranthe sound like no other band – timeless, pop choruses coated with an icing of three layers of sublime singing and growls. The band was originally called Avalanche, until May 2009, when they were forced to change their name, due to legal issues.[1] The members chose to rename the band Amaranthe. They later released their first demo, Leave Everything Behind.

In April 2011, their self-titled debut album, “Amaranthe“,was released via Spinefarm Records to worldwide acclaim, charting high in Sweden and Finland. “Amaranthe” was the 84th most played album on Spotify worldwide, counting all genres. After a completed run of 92 live shows they returned to the studio.

March 2013 saw the release of “The Nexus”. Extensive touring followed, more chart entries garnered – The album reached 6th on Swedish charts, 4th on Finnish charts, and reached a peak of 12th on the US Heatseekers charts.

Amaranthe 2017

In October 2013, harsh vocalist Solveström left the band and was replaced by Henrik Englund Wilhelmsson (Scarpoint). Almost exactly a year later, October 2014 saw the release of Amaranthe’s 3rd outing MASSIVE ADDICTIVE. The album immediately charted in 6 countries, reaching #1 on the Billboard Heatseekers chart.

The band’s 4th album “Maximalism” was released in October 2016. The album charted everywhere, reaching #1 on the Billboard Heatseakers, Top 100 Billboard & #3 in Finland.

In November 2016, male clean vocalist Jake E announced that he would take a break from the band. In February 2017, he announced that he was permanently leaving the band. In March 2017, he joined CyHraIn July 2017, Amaranthe stated on their Facebook page that Nils Molin of Dynazty would join the band as their permanent vocalist, after filling in for Jake E on tour dates.

On July 20, 2018, the German band Powerwolf released their album The Sacrament of Sin. Amaranthe appeared on the “Communio Lupatum” of that album with their cover version of Powerwolf’s “Army of the Night” (originally from the album Blessed & Possessed, which was released on July 17, 2015).

On August 10, 2018, they released their new single, “365“, from their new album Helix, which itself was released on October 19.


“Inferno”, a new song from Swedish melodic metallers AMARANTHE, is now available to stream. The track is the third single from the band’s upcoming fifth album “Helix”, […]

October 12, 2018 by Kris Murias

The countdown has begun for the release of AMARANTHE‘s fifth album “Helix”. The follow up to 2016’s “Maximalism“ has been recorded in Dermark with producer Jacob Hansen, and […]

September 29, 2018 by Kris Murias

Finnish melodic metal shooting stars ARION have proudly presented their official music video for the song “At The Break Of Dawn”. “It was an absolute […]

September 18, 2018 by Kris Murias

Swedish pop-metal band – Amaranthe entered the studio and is working on its fifth studio album. The upcoming album will be the first Amaranthe album […]

March 8, 2018 by Justyna Klorek
Amaranthe - Helix

Helix / 2018

Amaranthe - Maximalism

Maximalism / 2016

Amaranthe - The Nexus

The Nexus / 2013

Amaranthe - Amaranthe

Amaranthe / 2011

2019-06-13T19:00:43Nova RockKleylehofAustriaInfoTickets
2019-06-15T19:00:42Greenfield FestivalInterlakenSwitzerlandInfoTickets
2019-06-17T19:00:39La RodiaBesançonFranceInfoTickets
2019-06-18T18:00:50Maimarktgelände ParkplatzMannheimGermanyInfoTickets
2019-06-26T19:00:01Volt FesztiválSopronHungaryInfoTickets
2019-06-27T17:00:01Tons Of RockSageneNorwayInfoTickets
2019-06-28T19:00:09Trondheim RocksTrondheimNorwayInfoTickets
2019-06-30T19:00:13Hills Of RockPlovdivBulgariaInfoTickets
2019-07-02T19:00:02O2 Brixton AcademyLondonUnited KingdomInfoTickets
2019-07-06T16:00:11Amphitheatre Banská BystricaBanská BystricaSlovakiaInfoTickets
2019-07-12T19:00:16Masters of RockVizoviceCzech RepublicInfoTickets
2019-07-18T19:00:01John Smith Rock FestivalLaukaaFinlandInfoTickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown.
Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.

No album reviews found for this band.

If you are interested of writing album reviews, contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
No livereviews found for this band.

If you are interested of going to concerts and writing reviews, contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.