STYLE: ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 1996LABEL: Spinefarm Records
  • Ruoja - Vocals & Guitars
  • Kalmos - Guitars & Backing Vocals
  • Tohtori Kuolio - Bass & Backing Vocals
  • Raajat - Keyboards & Backing Vocals
  • Tartunta - Guitars
  • Malakias VI - Drums

Ajattara is a six-piece dark metal band from Helsinki, Finland led by Pasi Koskinen (ex Amorphis). They formed in 1996, split up 2012 and reformed in 2016. They were signed to Spinefarm Records and have released eight albums, their most recent being Lupaus, which was released in May 2017.

Ajattara formed in 1996 as a side project of Amorphis singer Pasi Koskinen. Their first release was a demo tape entitled Helvetissä on syntisen taivas which was released in 1998. The band then signed to Spinefarm Records and went on to release three albums – Itse in 2001, Kuolema in 2003 and Tyhjyys in 2004. These albums were met with largely good reviews. Ajattara then went on to release a Christmas Single in the Novembers of 2004 and 2005, which is a tradition they have done for the last three years. They were entitled Ilon juhla (2004) and Joulu (2005). The band then went on to release another album in 2006, entitled Äpäre, which was met with similar reviews as their last three albums. The band continued with the Christmas single tradition of 2004 and 2005 by releasing a single entitled Sika in 2006.

The band entered the studio on 1 June 2007 to begin recording on the album Kalmanto which was released on 5 September 2007. However, this album was not met with such good reviews as Ajattara‘s other albums, as some critics said the album sounded chaotic and forced. In April 2009, Ajattara released their 6th album entitled Noitumaa, this time being an all-acoustic album, which received clearly better reviews than the previous release.

The band made an announcement on its Facebook page on 15 April 2012 that it had split up, reasons are unknown.

On 23 March, 2016, the band made an announcement on their Facebook page that they will be playing at the Norwegian Blastfest in February 2017. Shortly after, on 9 May 2016, Pasi Koskinen has announced the reunion of the band, announcing further live dates including Nummirock 2016 in Finland and Satan’s Convention 2017 in Germany.

Ajattara combine elements of black metal that play a style of black metal not dissimilar to Celtic Frost and, to a lesser extent, Samael. The combined use of synthesizers and heavy guitar sounds give Ajattara a distinct “grimey” sound. The lyrical themes of Ajattara usually deal with death, evil and paganism.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Lupaus / 2017

  • Album Info
  • 2017
  • Svart Records
  1. Saatanan Sinetti
  2. Ristinkirot
  3. Suru
  4. S.I.N.Ä.
  5. Amen
  6. Ave Satana
  7. Uhrilahja
  8. Lupaus
  9. Machete

Murhat / 2011

  • Album Info
  • 2011
  • Osasto-A Records
  1. Kunnes Taivas Meidät Erottaa
  2. Ihmisen luku
  3. H.A.I.
  4. Aura
  5. Sokea liha
  6. Routalempi
  7. Murheiden kilta
  8. Apilas
  9. Veljet


Murhat (Finnish for “murders”) is the seventh studio album by the Finnish dark metal band Ajattara. It was released in 2011 on Osasto-A Records.

Noitumaa / 2009

  • Album Info
  • 2009
  • Spinefarm Records
  1. Keuhkot
  2. Massat
  3. Mitä kuolema parantaa?
  4. Saatana palvoo meitä
  5. Saveen saarnattu
  6. Ikuisen aamun Sara
  7. Kielletyn sanat
  8. Säkeitä riippuneesta lihasta
  9. Lammas



Noitumaa is the sixth studio album by the Finnish dark metal band Ajattara. It was released in 2009 on Spinefarm Records. The album differs from the other Ajattara albums by being fully acoustic.

Kalmanto  / 2007

  • Album Info
  • 2007
  • Spikefarm Records
  1. Ilkitie
  2. Turhuuden Takila
  3. Madot
  4. …Putoan
  5. Harhojen Virta
  6. Suruntuoja
  7. Naimalaulu
  8. Alttarilla Aamutähden
  9. Kalmanto


Kalmanto is the fifth studio album by the Finnish dark metal band Ajattara. It was released in 2007 on Spikefarm Records.

Äpäre / 2006

  • Album Info
  • 2006
  • Spikefarm Records


  1. Hurmasta
  2. Raato
  3. Säälin Koira
  4. Lautuma
  5. Eksyneet
  6. Hirsipuulintu
  7. Tahtomattaan Syntynyt
  8. Itse
  9. Koito
  10. Syntyni


Äpäre is the fourth studio album by the Finnish dark metal band Ajattara. It was released in 2006 on Spikefarm Records.

Tyhjyys / 2004

  • Album Info
  • 2004
  • Spikefarm Records
  1. Intro
  2. Sortajan Kaipuu
  3. Katumuksen Kyinen Koura
  4. Naaras
  5. Armon Arvet
  6. Pahan Tuoma
  7. Harhojen Renki
  8. Langennut
  9. Uhrit
  10. Tyhjyydestä
  11. Outro


Tyhjyys (Finnish for “emptiness”) is the third studio album by the Finnish dark metal band Ajattara. It was released in 2004 on Spikefarm Records.

Kuolema / 2003

  • Album Info
  • 2003
  • Spikefarm Records
  1. Antakaa Elää
  2. Surman Henki
  3. Haureus
  4. Huoran Alla
  5. Ikiyössä
  6. Musta Leski
  7. Sielun Särkijä
  8. Kituvan Kiitos
  9. Helvetissä On Syntisen Taivas
  10. Rauhassa


Kuolema (Finnish for “death”) is the second studio album by the Finnish dark metal band Ajattara. It was released in 2003 on Spikefarm Records.

Itse  / 2001

  • Album Info
  • 2001
  • Spikefarm Records
  1. Yhdeksäs
  2. Verivalta
  3. Musta Aurinko
  4. Kuolevan Rukous
  5. Ägräs
  6. Murhamiesi
  7. Tulessa
  8. Manan Lapset
  9. Rajan Takaa
  10. Vihan Musta Tanssi


Itse (Finnish “self”) is the debut studio album by the Finnish dark metal band Ajattara. It was released in 2001 on Spikefarm Records.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.