STYLE: ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 1989LABEL: Svart Records
  • Jukka Kolehmainen - vocals
  • Tomi Koivusaari - guitar
  • Kalle Mattsson - guitar
  • Jussi "Juice" Ahlroth - bass
  • Waltteri Väyrynen - drums

Abhorrence is a Finnish death metal band originally formed in 1989.

Abhorrence was formed in early 1989 by guitarists Tomi Koivusaari (of Violent Solution) and Kalle Mattsson, vocalist Jukka Kolehmainen and bassist Jussi Ahlroth (who had played in a band called Disaster), as well as drummer Kimmo Heikkinen. For some time they played under several different names until settling on Abhorrence, playing dozens of concerts alongside bands like Xysma and Funebre. After recording and releasing one demo tape, titled Vulgar Necrolatry, they released a 7″ EP on Seraphic Decay Records. Without a written contract of any kind, the band lost all of the master tapes and possible future revenues.

After several more gigs around Finland, a short visit to Norway (one gig and a party/sleepover at black metal band Mayhem‘s house) with their second drummer Mika Arnkil (on leave from Antidote), the band broke up in 1990, but reunited in 2013. Koivusaari went on to play in Amorphis.

Abhorrence reunited in 2013 for a few gigs to celebrate the release of a compilation album and forgetting to disband again. Since then, in a state of uncertain existence, materializing just to spew out a slew of new obscenities, only to fade out of reality again. A perpetual Schrödinger’s band. Influenced by bands of the late-80’s like Carcass, Bolt Thrower, Morbid Angel, Suffocation, Funebre, Nihilist/Entombed, Pungent Stench, Autopsy, Xysma, Napalm Death and so forth, but mainly trying their best to sound nothing like them.

2012 saw the release of the 2LP compilation CD “Completely Vulgar“. In 2017, Abhorrence released “Totally Vulgar – Live at Tuska Open Air 2013” as a CD and LP.

In September of 2018, the mini-LP and CD release of “Megalohydrothalassophobic” was unleashed and quoted as their “first new piece of music since 1990”.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Megalohydrothalassophobic / 2018

  • Album Info
  • 2018
  • Svart Records

Megalohydrothalassophobic – Abhorrence (2018)

  1. 1. Intro – The Mesh
  2. 2. Anthem for the Anthropocene
  3. 3. The Four Billion Year Dream
  4. 4. Hyperobject Beneath the Waves
  5. 5. The End Has Already Happened


“The old Abhorrence sound, reaching from death to doom to black and psychedelia, is all there on the EP. This time, the pioneers of death metal horror have dug their claws into the deep abyss of the ocean. True to their roots of nightmare and terror, Abhorrence brings you a vision of Lovecraftian horror in the age of the ecological catastrophe. The lyrics fuse together the deeply unsettling tales of H.P. Lovecraft with the thought-provoking philosophy of Timothy Morton, arguably the most important thinker of the anthropoce, the current catastrophical age of human existence.” – Svart Records


Released September 14, 2018

Arrangements by Abhorrence
Lyrics by Jussi Ahlroth
Recording and mixing by Jan Rechberger
Mastered by Jaime Gomez Arellano
Design and concept by Jussi Ahlroth and Jukka Kolehmainen
Art by Jesse Huusari

Abhorrence / 1990

  • Album Info
  • 1990
  • Seraphic Decay Records

1. Intro
2. Pestilential Mists
3. Holy Laws of Pain
4. Caught in a Vortex
5. Disintegration of Flesh

Abhorrence is an EP by Finnish death metal band AbhorrenceBoth releases, Abhorrence and Vulgar Necrolatry are available for download on the band’s website, while rehearsal tapes and live footage are making the rounds.  

Vulgar Necrolatry-Demo / 1990

Abhorrence-Vulgar Necrolatry
  • Album Info
  • 1990
  • Independent

1. Intro: the Cult
2. Vulgar Necrolatry
3. Pleasures of Putrid Flesh
4. Devourer of Souls

Vulgar Necrolatry is the short, yet brutal demo by Finnish death metal band AbhorrenceAs Tomi Koivusaari would later on join Amorphis following the demise of Abhorrence, Amorphis would add the song to their ever-growing repertoire. 

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.