STYLE: ORIGIN: NorwayFORMED: 2015LABEL: Season Of Mist
  • Abbath Doom Occulta - Vocals & Guitar
  • Rusty Cornell - Bass Guitar
  • 'Creature' Emil Wiksten - Drums

Abbath is a black metal band formed in 2015 by former Immortal guitarist and vocalist Abbath Doom Occulta after departing from Immortal earlier in 2015. The band released their first album, Abbath, on January 22, 2016, and played live for the first time at Tuska Open Air 2015.

In April 2015, Metalhammer announced that Abbath Doom Occulta had recruited members to the band, specifically King Ov Hell from God Seed and drummer Creature to participate in the band. They also recruited Vredehammer guitarist and vocalist Per Valla to tour with the band as lead guitarist. The band was set to enter a recording studio later this year to work on their debut album for a 2016 release. During their debut performance at Tuska Open Air 2015, they played a completed song titled “Fenrir Hunts” that would be featured on then-upcoming debut album. Their debut album, self-titled Abbath, was released January 22, 2016 on Season of Mist. On December 12, 2015, it was announced that drummer Creature left the band. Several days later on December 15, live member Per Valla left the band. At the start of 2016 Gabe Seeber, donning the Creature mask, joined as live drummer replacing Creature Kevin Foley and replacing Per Valla is Ole André Farstad, who played on the debut album, joined as live guitarist.

On October 6, 2016, Abbath announced on their Facebook page that they are working on their second album, planned for a 2017 release.

In June of 2018, King Ov Hell announced his departure from Abbath in a Facebook post, noting that it was “due to conflicting views on lyrical concepts of the upcoming album. The lyrics are inspired by Swiss psychiatrist Carl Gustav JungKing finds that Jung‘s connection to Christian mysticism is incompatible with the image of the band.”

At the beginning of December, 2018, Abbath posted a sneak peak video on the ABBATH -Official- Facebook page from a recording studio in Krisiansand (NO) with the simple quote, “Be ready…”

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Outstrider / 2019

  • Album Info
  • 2019
  • Season of Mist

1. Calm in Ire of Hurricane
2. Bridge of Spasms
3. The Artifex
4. Harvest Pyre
5. Land of Khem
6. Outstrider
7. Scythewinder
8. Hecate

Outstrider is the second studio album by Norwegian black metal band Abbath. It was released on July 5, 2019 through Season of Mist. Loudwire named it one of the 50 best metal albums of 2019.

Abbath / 2016

Abbath - Abbath
  • Album Info
  • 2016
  • Season of Mist

Abbath is the self-titled debut album by former Immortal frontman Abbath. It was released on January 22, 2016 through Season of Mist. It is the only album to feature drummer Creature before his departure in December 2015. The album is composed mostly of content that Abbath had originally prepared for the next Immortal album which was ultimately never used for it following his departure from the band in 2015.

On January 12, 2016, the entire album was made available for streaming

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
2024-07-31T20:00:00Z7 KonzertfabrikPrattelnSwitzerlandInfoTickets
2024-08-01T20:00:00Arena WienWienAustriaInfoTickets
2024-08-05T17:00:00Arena Alpe AdriaLignano SabbiadoroItalyInfoTickets
2024-08-07T12:00:01Brutal Assault 2024JaroměřCzech RepublicInfoTickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.