Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies

Volbeat - Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies
  • Album Info
  • 2013
  • Vertigo Records, Republic Records, Universal Records

1. Let’s Shake Some Dust
2. Pearl Hart
3. The Nameless One
4. Dead But Rising
5. Cape Of Our Hero
6. Room 24
7. The Hangman’s Body Count
8. My Body
9. Lola Montez
10. Black Bart
11. Lonesome Rider
12. The Sinner Is You
13. Doc Holliday
14. Our Loved Ones


Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies is the fifth studio album by Danish heavy metal band Volbeat. The album was released on 5 April 2013. The title refers to the outlaws and gunslingers of the 19th century. This is the band’s first album with guitarist Rob Caggiano and their final album with bassist Anders Kjølholm. The track “Room 24”, with vocalist King Diamond, was made available for the fans as a free download on 5 April 2013, and was later nominated for the Grammy Award for Best Metal Performance.

In January 2013, Volbeat revealed that they had been working on a new album which was named Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies and that it was set for a spring 2013 release

It was later announced that the former Anthrax lead guitarist, Rob Caggiano, would be producing the album as well as recording guest solos. Shortly thereafter, it was announced that Caggiano had officially joined the band as its second guitarist, after being asked to do so by the other band members. Singer and guitarist Michael Poulsen said of the chemistry between Caggiano and the rest of the band, “The collaboration with Rob in the studio was so inspiring and in good spirit that we the decided to keep him. Basically we went into the studio as a three piece and came out as a whole band!” At the same time, it was announced that the album would be released on April 8, 2013 (GSA on April 5 and USA on April 9).

In an interview on February 11, 2013, Poulsen told Metal Hammer magazine, “One of the things I’m most happy about this time is the contrast in the material, the range of the music; on the one side, you have the western motifs, the rockabilly / country songs, and the real emotional melodies, and on the other, some of the heaviest – actually, THE heaviest – songs we have ever recorded. There was a record company guy in the studio the other day, and he was absolutely blown away by the ultra-heavy stuff. He said he wasn’t even sure he was listening to Volbeat!”.

Michael Poulsen – vocals, rhythm guitar
Anders Kjølholm – bass guitar
Jon Larsen – drums, percussion
Rob Caggiano – lead guitar

Guest musicians
King Diamond – vocals on “Room 24”
Paul Lamb – harp on tracks 1, 14 and 16
Sarah Blackwood – vocals on “Lonesome Rider”
Anders Pedersen – slide guitar on tracks 7, 10 and 11
Jakob Øelund – double bass
Rod Sinclair – banjo