Beyond Hell/Above Heaven

Volbeat - Beyond Hell-Above Heaven
  • Album Info
  • 2010
  • EMI, Vertigo Records, Republic Records, Universal Records

1. The Mirror And The Ripper
2. Heaven Nor Hell
3. Who They Are
4. Fallen
5. A Better Believer
6. 7 Shots
7. A New Day
8. 16 Dollars
9. A Warrior’s Call
10. Magic Zone
11. Evelyn
12. Being 1
13. Thanks


Beyond Hell / Above Heaven is the fourth studio album by Danish heavy metal band Volbeat. The album was released on September 10, 2010 on EMI in Denmark, on Vertigo in the rest of Europe, and on Republic in the United States.

The title refers to the overall theme of the album, continuing the storyline of Guitar Gangsters & Cadillac Blood. This was the first Volbeat album to chart on the Billboard 200, and was certified Gold by the RIAA on March 22, 2016.

The album, Beyond Hell/Above Heaven was released on 10 September 2010.

Michael Poulsen explained the title of the album stating

“…it’s a way telling people that we don’t belong or believe in neither heaven nor hell. So if we go beyond hell, we will make heaven look like hell, and if we go above heaven, we will make hell look like heaven. Heaven and hell is something we create in our minds and personal self-created demons come out of that.”

Featured on the album is previously released track, “A Warrior’s Call”, which was made for Danish boxer Mikkel Kessler. The track Evelyn contains some death grunts provided by Mark “Barney” Greenway (Napalm Death), which was a whole new element on Volbeat’s music, making a groove metal style.

Michael Poulsen has also revealed several of the guest musicians on the album stating “I’m very very proud to have these fine gentlemen with me, since they inspired me a lot for a long time.”

Cover and Artwork By Karsten Sand (Wrysand)

Michael Poulsen – vocals, rhythm guitar
Anders Kjølholm – bass
Jon Larsen – drums, percussion
Thomas Bredahl – lead guitar

Guest musicians
Mark “Barney” Greenway – Napalm Death – vocals on “Evelyn”
Michael Denner – Mercyful Fate/King Diamond – lead guitar on “7 Shots”
Miland “Mille” Petrozza – Kreator – vocals on “7 Shots”
Henrik HallLove Shop – mouth harp on “Heaven Nor Hell”
Jakob ØelundTaggy Tones – slap bass on “16 Dollars”