Ass Cobra

Ass Cobra
  • Album Info
  • 1996
  • Amphetamine Reptile Records / Bomba Records / Bitzcore Records / Sympathy for the Record Industry / Get Hip Records / Epitaph Records / Burning Heart Records

Ass Cobra is the Norwegian punk rock band Turbonegro’s 1996 studio album, their third full-length. It was first released on Amphetamine Reptile Records in Europe in early May, on Boomba Records in Germany and in 1997 on Sympathy for the Record Industry in the United States. It was re-released in 1998 on Bitzcore Records (Germany) and on Get Hip Records (USA) and in 2003 on Epitaph Records (USA) and Burning Heart Records (Sweden). The album title is a reference to the AC Cobra sports car and the album cover to Pet Sounds by The Beach Boys.

Ass Cobra featured a move towards mid-’70s punk & glam territory – in the spirit of proto punk pioneers à la The Dictators, The Ramones or late Iggy & The Stooges – plus a bit of New York Dolls’ travesty thrown in. Ass Cobra paves the way harshly, with a sinister wash of cymbals, loud guitars and articulate riffs — think Poison Idea meets Alice Cooper. It is here, also, where Turbonegro developed their signature look: sailor caps, denim from head to toe, mustaches all around, and decidedly butch homoerotic accoutrements. Though Turbonegro did quite a bit of recording prior to this album, Ass Cobra set a new pace for the band, and enabled them to record what is by many fans considered to be their masterpiece, Apocalypse Dudes. Moshable magazine remarked: “The very best in obnoxious drunk punk, already a classic buy-or-die thing!”

All songs composed and performed by TRBNGR except “Raggare Is a Bunch of Motherfuckers” (The Rude Kids), “Mobile Home” (The Lewd) and “Young Boys Feet” (The Dicks).