Darkest White

Tristania -Darkest_White
  • Album Info
  • 2013
  • Napalm

1. Number
2. Darkest White
3. Himmelfall
4. Requiem
5. Diagnosis
6. Scarling
7. Night on Earth
8. Cathedral
9. Lavender
10. Cypher
11. Arteries

Darkest White is the seventh full-length album by the Norwegian gothic metal band Tristania. It is the second Tristania album to feature Mariangela Demurtas and Kjetil Nordhus on vocals.


The demo that gave birth to the final version of the songs in Darkest White were produced between June and September 2012. Soon after, the band readjusted the songs by themselves, in an improvised studio at Ole Vistnes’ apartment, between September and December 2012. On January 2013, the band entered the studio to make the definitive recordings of the album, finishing in less than a month, the band’s shortest recording period so far.

Early April, the band announced Darkest White official track list.

Critical reception

The album was critically well received, and often considered the “real come back” for the band after former vocalist Vibeke Stene departure, in 2007. Sputnikmusic stated that with Darkest White”they have actually outdone themselves”, while “being the same band who released Rubicon”. The album was praised for its “exploration of dark, desolate beauty” mood while called an “emotional thread”. Another aspect that was well received was the “flawlessly accomplished” three-vocalist style driven throughout the album with the harsh vocals from Anders H. Hidle, the clean vocalsfrom the returning Kjetil Nordhus and Mariangela Demurtas’ female vocals. The combination of this three vocalists was considered “intelligent” and “diligent”.