The Children of the Night

Tribulation-The Children of the Night
  • Album Info
  • 2015
  • Century Media Records

1. Strange Gateways Beckon
2. Melancholia
3. In the Dreams of the Dead
4. Winds
5. Själaflykt
6. The Motherhood of God
7. Strains of Horror
8. Holy Libations
9. Cauda Pavonis
10. Music from the Other

The Children of the Night is the third studio album by Swedish death/black/gothic metal band Tribulation. It was released on April 20, 2015 through Century Media Records.

The album’s sound is stark departure from the death metal style of Tribulation’s previous records. The Children of the Night features a heavy metal and extreme metal sound with elements from psychedelic rock, progressive metal, thrash metal, classic rock, hard rock, and gothic rock. It also attributes influences to various rock and metal music acts such as Mercyful FateAt the GatesLed ZeppelinHawkwind, The DoorsIron MaidenDeep Purple and Pink Floyd.

The album generally received positive reviews from music critics. Chris Dick of Decibel magazine wrote: “There are few bands who are capable of Children of the Night“. Pitchfork critic Grayson Haver Currin described the album as “a heavy metal record that wanders beyond any comfort zone” and “a sprawling, compulsory tale that doesn’t turn dull”. Loudwire’s Joe DiVita thought that the record “offers a refreshing take on a beloved style with enough extreme metal elements in tact that should please fans on both sides of the fence.” Michael Nelson of Stereogum regarded it as “the best record he has heard in 2015.”

Pitchfork’s Brandon Stosuy listed The Children of the Night as number two on his list of “The Best Metal Albums of 2015”. Spin magazine critic Colin Joyce also listed the album as number six on the publication’s list of “The 20 Best Metal Albums of 2015”.