The Astral Sleep

  • Album Info
  • 1991
  • Century Media Records

1. Neo Aeon (Intro)
2. Lady Temptress
3. Mountain Of Doom
4. Dead Boys’ Quire
5. Sumerian Cry (Part III)
6. On Golden Wings
7. Ancient Entity
8. The Southernmost Voyage
9. Angels Far Beyond
10. I Am The King (Of Dreams)
11. A Winter Shadow
12. The Seal (Outro)


The Astral Sleep is the second album from Tiamat. It marks their debut on longtime label, Century Media Records. This album was reissued in 2006 with two tracks from A Winter Shadow single, released in 1990.

While still rooted completely within the death metal genre, this album shows the band reaching out into more melodic and experimental territories as well, with traces of doom metal, black metal, and gothic metal coming into the mix. Lyrically, while still centered almost entirely around Satanism, this album features more esoteric and introspective themes.