Sumerian Cry

  • Album Info
  • 1990
  • CMFT Productions

1. Sumerian Cry (Part I)
2. In The Shrines Of The Kingly Dead
3. The Malicious Paradise
4. Necrophagious Shadows
5. Apothesis Of Morbidity
6. Nocturnal Funeral
7. Altar Flame
8. Evilized
9. Where The Serpents Ever Dwell
10. Sumerian Cry (Part II)
11. The Sign Of The Pentagram


Sumerian Cry is the debut album from the Swedish then-death metal band Tiamat.

The album was recorded at Sunlight Studio, Stockholm, Sweden, in 1989, when the band was known under the original name Treblinka. The track “Sumerian Cry, Pt. 1” is a re-interpretation of the intro melody from “Crawling in Vomit”, the first track off Treblinka’s first demo. The track “The Sign of the Pentagram” is exclusive to the CD version of the album, and was not recorded at the same time as the rest of the album. This particular track was intended to be included on a compilation-CD released by Jon “Metalion” Kristiansen(editor of Norwegian metal fanzine Slayer). The CD was never released, and the track was included as a bonus track on this album.

“Where the Serpents Ever Dwell” was later covered by black metal band The Ruins of Beverast on the vinyl edition of their album Foulest Semen of a Sheltered Elite.