Thorns (Self-titled)

  • Album Info
  • 2001
  • Moonfog Productions

1. Existence

2. World Playground Deceit

3. Shifting Channels

4. Stellar Master Elite

5. Underneath the Universe 1″ (instrumental)

6. Underneath the Universe 2

7. Interface to God

8. Vortex

Thorns is the debut studio album by Norwegian black metal band Thorns. It was released in 2001, through Moonfog Productions.

The album features guest appearances from Satyr (of Satyricon), Aldrahn (of Dødheimsgard) and Hellhammer (of Mayhem). Stylistically, Thorns is quite different from both Trøndertun and the first Thorns demo, Grymyrk. While it retains the eerie riff structures of those early releases, it displays a strong industrial influence, particularly on tracks like “Shifting Channels” and “Underneath the Universe, Part 1”.

The samples “Jesus, what a mindjob” and “So you’re here to save the world” in the song “Existence” are taken from the 1999 film The Matrix.