Secret of the Runes

Therion-Secret of the Runes
  • Album Info
  • 2001
  • Nuclear Blast

1. Ginnungagap (The Black Hole) (Prologue)
2. (Old) Midgård
3. Asgård (The Bifrost Bridge)
4. (Call of) Jotunheim
5. Schwarzalbenheim (Svartalfheim) (Gold der Unterwelt)
6. Ljusalfheim (The Shining Ones)
7. Muspelheim (Gudaskymning)
8. Nifelheim (Dimmornas Värld)
9. Vanaheim (Seed of Ing)
10. Helheim (Den dimhöljda)
11. Secret of the Runes (Epilogue)

Secret of the Runes is the tenth full-length musical album by Swedish symphonic metal band Therion. It is a concept album based on Norse mythology, where each song describes one of the nine worlds. Cover artwork was made by Thomas Ewerhard, it features nine Scandinavian runes, each corresponding to a certain mythological world.

Album also includes two cover versions as bonus tracks. A music video was filmed for the Summer Night City cover.