Amber Galactic

  • Album Info
  • 2017
  • Nuclear Blast Records
1. “Midnight Flyer” 6:07
2. “Star of Rio” 4:34
3. “Gemini” 4:18
4. “Sad State of Affairs” 4:50
5. “Jennie” 4:32
6. “Domino” 5:01
7. “Josephine” 4:41
8. “Space Whisperer” 4:35
9. “Something Mysterious” 4:10
10. “Saturn in Velvet” 7:26
Total length: 50:07

Amber Galactic is the third studio album by Swedish rock band The Night Flight Orchestra, released on 19 May 2017 via Nuclear Blast. It was recorded at Handsome Hard Studios, Kävlinge, Sweden and Nordic Sound Lab, Skara, Sweden in 2016. Additional recordings were done at Studio Valborg, Studio Rymdberg, Speedstrid Studios and on a tour bus close to the Austrian border.

In March 2017 during a press conference, singer Björn Strid stated:
“Amber Galactic was made during late nights and way too early mornings, when sometimes, in the corner of your eye, you can catch a glimpse of another dimension, where all the women are heartbroken space commanders in evening gowns, the champagne is always free and the drugs won’t hurt you. We wanted to create more than just a listening experience, instead we want it to be an alternative reality. We hope that after listening to Amber Galactic, you’ll be wide-eyed, horny and slightly drunk.” Guitarist David Andersson added: “Musicianship in itself is not interesting, neither are the technical aspects of creating music. The ideas and visions behind the music are the only things really worthy of in-depth discussions. We’ve all reached a point where we can all pretty much play and sing whatever we want. We didn’t talk much about chord changes or amplifiers during the recording sessions. But we spent a lot of time discussing Kierkegaard’s concept of anxiety, different vintages of sparkling wine, the psychoacoustic aspects of modulation, the innate superiority of women and why a pearl necklace always look better when whoever wears it has a bored expression on her face.”