Eternal Death

The Crown-Eternal Death
  • Album Info
  • 2002
  • Century Media Records

1. Angels Die
2. Beautiful Evil Soul
3. In Bitterness and Sorrow
4. The Black Heart
5. World Within
6. The Serpent Garden
7. Kill (The Priest)
8. Misery Speaks
9. Hunger
10. Death of God

Eternal Death is the second album of Crown of Thorns. It was originally released in 1997 and later re-issued under the band’s current name, The Crown. This album downplays the thrash metal-element of the band’s sound considerably, favoring instead a more black metal-oriented sound.

The album received from 91 to 100 percent approval on Encyclopaedia Metallum.

DemonBit praised the soundtrack as well as the performance saying that “Every performance here is nothing short of impressive.” and praising the ensemble members independently: “Janne Saarenpää absolutely pummels his kit in a truly dynamic performance of blast beats, fills and innovative rhythms. Vocalist Johan Lindstrand delivers coarse shrieks under sustained syllables, giving the blasphemous lyrical content some welcomed emotional power. Guitarists Marcus Sunesson and Marko Tervonen provide perhaps the most interesting aspect of the album, with their masterful blend of concise gothenburg-like and Floridian death metal riff fusion.”

The re-released version which was published by Dissonance in 2018 received 8.5 out of 10 from Daniel Müller of the Cross Fire.