What Lies Beneath

What lies beneath
  • Album Info
  • 2010
  • Universal

1. “Anteroom of Death” (featuring Van Canto)
2. “Until My Last Breath”
3. “I Feel Immortal”
4. “In for a Kill”
5. “Underneath”
6. “Little Lies”
7. “Rivers of Lust”
8. “Dark Star” (featuring Phil Labonte)
9. “Falling Awake” (featuring Joe Satriani)
10. “The Archive of Lost Dreams”
11. “Crimson Deep”

What Lies Beneath is the third album by the Finnish singer Tarja Turunen, which was released on 1 September 2010 in Finland, on 3 September in Germany, Switzerland and Austria and on 14 September in Latin and North America. It is the first of Tarja’s albums in which she is credited for composition on every track. The album was mixed at ’62 Studios in Austin Texas by Tim Palmer

In 2008, after the first leg of the Storm World Tour, Turunen took time to compose new songs. She announced in her blog two songs that she had composed in her time off, “Wisdom of Wind” and “Enough”, both later released on the My Winter Storm extended edition. On January 25, Turunen announced on her blog the name of her follow-up to My Winter Storm and talked about the album, revealing titles and lyrics. What Lies Beneath, which sold around 1,300 copies in the United States in its first week of release, landed at position 24 on the Billboard’s Top Heatseekers, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists. In Finland, it was at 6th position after two months on the official Finnish charts, also spending two months on the German Top 100, one and a half months on the Austrian Top 40, and a full month on the charts in Switzerland, Belgium and Greece, ending 2010 at 13th position on Billboard’s Top 100 of best-selling albums in Europe.

To promote the album, Turunen started the What Lies Beneath World Tour on 12 June 2010, which ended on 8 April 2012, in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. It started with a special concert in Rio de Janeiro, during the big international festival Rock in Rio, on 15 September 2011. Tarja’s first live DVD, Act I, was filmed during two nights in Rosario, Argentina, on 30 and 31 March 2012.