Colours in the Dark

Colours in the dark
  • Album Info
  • 2013
  • Universal

1. “Victim of Ritual”
2. “500 Letters”
3. “Lucid Dreamer”
4. “Never Enough”
5. “Mystique Voyage”
6. “Darkness”
7. “Deliverance”
8. “Neverlight”
9. “Until Silence”
10. “Medusa” (featuring Justin Furstenfeld)


Colours in the Dark is the fourth studio album released by Finnish vocalist Tarja Turunen. The record was released on 30 August 2013, in Austria, Brazil, Finland, Germany, Portugal, Spain, and Switzerland; 2 September in Norway, Poland, and the Czech Republic; 3 September in the United States and Canada; and 4 September in Belgium, Denmark, the Netherlands, Sweden, and the UK. Mixing was done by Tim Palmer in Austin, Texas in the United States. Tarja will start the Colours in the Dark World Tour on 17 October 2013, to promote the album. The name of the album, as the cover image, came as a metaphor from the idea that life has a large range of colors and the dark absorbs all of them, containing every color.

An official lyric video of the song “Never Enough” was released 31 May. The video was shot in Zlin, Czech Republic. The song was also released as a single on iTunes. The first music video for “Victim of Ritual” was shot in Berlin, Germany. and was released on 10 July. A promo teaser was released on 26 June. On 12 September 2013, Earmusic, Tarja’s label, announced that the second single taken from the album is going to be “500 Letters”. It would be released as a strictly limited CD single and download at the end of October. A promo teaser of the videoclip was released on 25 October and they announced that the premiere was going to be on 31 October. “500 Letters” was released on 1 November 2013 as a digital download only. On 20 February it was revealed on the blog that a new version of the album called Left in the Dark would be released later this year and will feature different versions of the songs on the original Colours in the Dark including acoustic versions of 500 Letters & Until Silence. A competition was held, with special prizes to the 5 best artworks.



The vocal recordings of the album started late 2012 and continued throughout the beginning of 2013. Titles of the album’s songs were revealed from times to times through Tarja’s blog, like she did with My Winter Storm(2007). The album’s name came out of the song “Until Silence”. This is the third time the album’s name came out of one of the songs. The artwork and some promotional pictures for this album were taken mainly in Indiaduring the What Lies Beneath World Tour in 2011. During the end of that tour Tarja already performed “Into the Sun” and a different version of “Never Enough”. Both songs ended up on the Colours in the Dark album and were also featured on the Act I video album

During the process of composition, Tarja alleged that she “had to learn a lot as a soloist, for good and or evil, and often in the past years [she] thought that [she] would never reach a day coming to the point where [she is] today”, also adding that she had a lot of “positive and negative” experiences that would finish on this record, that is “very rich in colors, shadows, deep aspects and that it does not capture at the first listen”.

During the middle of 2013, Turunen began via Earmusic uploading two videos per week until the album itself was released.The official pre-listening started one week prior to the album’s release.

The album cover was created by artist Dirk Rudolph.