Red for Fire: An Icelandic Odyssey Part I

Red for fire
  • Album Info
  • 2005
  • Season of Mist



1. Sun I Call
2. Survival of the Outlaw
3. Where Birds Have Never Been
4. Bragi (Instrumental)
5. White Frost Queen
6. There Is Need
7. Prayer of a Son (Poem)
8. Crater of the Valkyries
9. Sea I Called”
10. Lokasenna”

A two-part album

Part 1

Red for Fire: An Icelandic Odyssey Part I is a two-part concept album series by Norwegian avant-garde metal band Solefald. The first part, Red for Fire, was released on 18 October 2005, while the second part, Black for Death, was released on 24 November 2006. The band was quoted as saying “Solefald was experimenting when everybody was being true. Now that things are changing and that we’ve pushed the experiment quite far already, we wanted Red for Fire plus Black for Death to be our attempts at being ‘true’. This will be a true Nordic Viking metal album.”

Both albums could be considered a play on how Solefald describe their music, which is as “red music with black edges”.