Stabbing the Drama

  • Album Info
  • 2005
  • Nuclear Blast

1. Stabbing The Drama
2. One With The Flies
3. Weapon Of Vanity
4. The Crestfallen
5. Nerve
6. Stalemate
7. Distance
8. Observation Slave
9. Fate In Motion
10. Blind Eye Halo
11. If Possible
12. Wherever Thorns May Grow
13. Killed By Ignition


Stabbing the Drama is the sixth full-length studio album released by Swedish metal band Soilwork. The record was released on February 28, 2005 via Nuclear Blast label.

For a time this was the last to feature long-time guitarist Peter Wichers, who left the band after the subsequent tour until rejoining in 2008.

Style-wise, this could be considered a more diverse album than the previous record, Figure Number Five, taking elements of the past and present, and potential future. Most of the songwriting is done by guitarist Peter Wichers, and the central musical theme contains a simpler sound than heard on prior albums, with a reduction of harmonic guitar leads and a more metalcore-centric approach, such as usage of stop-start rhythm guitar work and breakdowns. This is also the first album to feature new drummer Dirk Verbeuren, who brings a more technical approach to the band’s drumming compared to the previous two albums.

Some pressings of the CD have tracks three and four reversed, with parts of track three still at the start of track four. Various pressings of the CD also mislabeled the final track, “If Possible”, to the 12th Bonus Track “Wherever Thorns May Grow” which is only featured on the US and European limited digipak edition, respective the Japanese and Korean pressings. 1,000 copies were made in a limited collectors metal case in the shape of the Soilworker’s logo.

Threat Signal did a cover version of the song “Stabbing the Drama” along with Speed, Live.

Some copies of Stabbing the Drama were mastered using HDCD. Although it is unmarked, playing the album in a CD player able to decode HDCD will give superior sound quality.