Shadows Of The Past

Sentenced - Shadows Of The Past
  • Album Info
  • 1991
  • Thrash Records / Century Media

1. When The Moment Of Death Arrives
2. Rot To Dead
3. Disengagement
4. Rotting Ways To Misery
5. The Truth
6. Suffocated Beginning Of Life
7. Beyond The Distant Valleys
8. Under The Suffer
9. Descending Curtain Of Death
10. Wings
11. In Memoriam
12. Mythic Silence (As They Wander In The Mist)

“Shadows Of The Past” is the debut album by the Finnish metal band SENTENCED. It was released in 1991 and re-issued by Century Media in 1995, including the “Journey To Pohjola” demo. It was re-issued again in 2001 with North From Here and again in 2008 as a two-CD set along with their first two demos. The album features more prominent death metal elements than would be present later in their career. On the introduction speech of North From Here 2008 re-release Jarva states that at the time of “Shadows Of The Past” the band was just a “Death clone” amongst others, so the band chose to pursue a more technical and personal-sounding direction on their second album.

The album has had three different covers: the original release drawn by Luxi Lahtinen, the Century Media 1995 reissue drawn by Taneli Jarva, and the 2008 reissue which is a reproduction of a medieval woodcut print. This version also includes an insert featuring the first two covers.