• Album Info
  • 2007
  • InsideOut Music

1. Scarsick
2. Spitfall
3. Cribcaged
4. America
5. Disco Queen
6. Kingdom Of Loss
7. Mrs. Modern Mother Mary
8. Idiocracy
9. Flame to the Moth
10. Enter Rain

Scarsick is the sixth studio album by Swedish progressive metal band Pain of Salvation, released on 22 January 2007. It is a concept album focusing on contemporary issues including capitalism, materialism, and consumerism. Scarsick is the last album to feature Johan Langell on drums.

According to Daniel Gildenlöw, “Scarsick is much more band oriented and down to the core. Threatening and disturbing”.
The liner notes reveal that Scarsick is actually The Perfect Element, part II – “he”. The album is divided into two chapters: side A and side B.

Scarsick is the second part of a planned, three-piece concept and the follow-up to The Perfect Element, part I. It continues the story of the male character from the latter album. Unlike its predecessor, Scarsick is a politically charged social commentary, and deals with a number of topics, including:

Frustration (with society in general, and most of the things listed below)
Consumer culture
American imperialism
Idolization of celebrities
Collectivist nature of religion
Decline of civilization

Daniel Gildenlow has revealed in interviews that the life of “He” is an allegory for all of mankind; that in him we see the problems of society on an intimate, personal level. Thus as The Perfect Element, part I deals with the subject of dysfunction in a psychological context that deals with the individual, Scarsick deals with them in a sociological sense and explores the relationship between the two. Just as the final song on the first part of the concept (“The Perfect Element”) witnesses the falling of “He” on a mental level, the final song on Scarsick (“Enter Rain”) sees him fall on a physical level.