Opeth - Heritage
  • Album Info
  • 2011
  • Roadrunner Records

1. “Heritage” (instrumental)
2. “The Devil’s Orchard”
3. “I Feel the Dark”
4. “Slither”
5. “Nepenthe”
6. “Häxprocess”
7. “Famine”
8. “The Lines in My Hand”
9. “Folklore”
10. “Marrow of the Earth” (instrumental)
11. “Pyre” (Limited Edition bonus track)
12. “Face in the Snow” (Limited Edition bonus track)


Heritage is the tenth studio album by Swedish Progressive metal band Opeth. It was released on 14 September 2011 through Roadrunner Records. The album was recorded in early 2011 at Atlantis/Metronome Studios in Stockholm and produced by Mikael Åkerfeldt, engineered by Janne Hansson, and mixed by Steven Wilson. It takes on a full-fledged progressive rock sound, something the band had wanted to do for some time. It is a stark contrast to the progressive metal and death metal sounds of their past albums.

A critical and commercial success, the album sold 19,000 units in the United States in its debut week, charting at number 19 on the Billboard 200. The album was their first since 2003’s Damnation not to feature Åkerfeldt’s signature death growls.