Opeth - Deliverance
  • Album Info
  • 2002
  • Music for Nations

1. “Wreath”
2. “Deliverance”
3. “A Fair Judgement”
4. “For Absent Friends” (instrumental)
5. “Master’s Apprentices”
6. “By the Pain I See in Others”

Deliverance is Swedish heavy metal band Opeth‘s sixth studio album. It was released on 12 November 2002. It was recorded between 22 July and 4 September 2002 (see 2002 in music), at the same time as Damnation, which was released the following year. The two albums contrast starkly with one another, purposely dividing the band’s two most prevalent styles, as Deliverance is considered to be one of the band’s heaviest albums, whereas Damnation experiments with a much mellower progressive rock-influenced sound.

The band originally intended for Deliverance and Damnation to be released as a double album, but the record company eventually decided against this and released them separately, approximately five months apart from one another in order to promote them properly.
The recording sessions also became a writing session of two albums worth of material, causing the recordings to be long as there were no songs written prior to that point. Ã…kerfeldt wrote the songs in the night and recorded them with the band during the days.
The track “Master’s Apprentices” was named after the Australian hard/progressive rock group The Masters Apprentices.
The track “For Absent Friends” was named after a song of the same name, originally appearing on the album Nursery Crymeby progressive rock group Genesis.
At the end of “By the Pain I See in Others”, the final note fades slowly and ends at 10:40. Silence follows until 12:00, followed by two backmasked verses from “Master’s Apprentices” at 12:20 and 13:15. These two backmasking verses are a ghost track.