The Violent Sleep of Reason

Meshuggah - The Violent Sleep of Reason
  • Album Info
  • 2016
  • Nuclear Blast

1. Clockworks
2. Born in Dissonance
3. MonstroCity
4. By the Ton
5. Violent Sleep of Reason
6. Ivory Tower
7. Stifled
8. Nostrum
9. Our Rage Won’t Die
10. Into Decay


The Violent Sleep of Reason is the eighth full-length album by Swedish metal band Meshuggah. The album’s title was loosely inspired by The Sleep of Reason Produces Monsters, an etching by Spanish painter Francisco Goya. The album’s title and lyrical themes are a commentary on terrorism, extremist views on ideals, religious dogma, and the violent implications.