Grand Declaration of War

  • Album Info
  • 2000
  • Season of Mist, Necropolis Records

1. A Grand Declaration Of War
2. In The Lies Where Upon You Lay
3. A Time To Die
4. View From Nihil (Pt. I Of II)
5. View From Nihil (Pt. II Of II)
6. A Bloodsword And A Colder Sun (Pt. I Of II)
7. A Bloodsword And A Colder Sun (Pt. II Of II)
8. Crystalized Pain In Deconstruction
9. Completion In Science Of Agony (Pt. I Of II)
10. To Daimonion (Pt. I Of III)
11. To Daimonion (Pt. II Of III)
12. To Daimonion (Pt. III Of III)
13. Completion In Science Of Agony (Pt. II Of II)


Grand Declaration of War is the second full-length studio album by the Norwegian black metal band Mayhem, released by Season of Mist and Necropolis Records on June 6, 2000.

The album’s title and some of the lyrics are taken from the writings of the German philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche, particularly his books Twilight of the Idols and The Antichrist. Nietzsche called Twilight of the Idols “a grand declaration of war” („eine grosse Kriegserklärung“).