The Arockalypse

Lordi - The Arockalypse
  • Album Info
  • 2006
  • Sony BMG / Drakkar Records / The End Records

“The Arockalypse” is the third studio album by Finnish heavy metal band LORDI. It includes the hit single “Hard Rock Hallelujah“, which won the Eurovision Song Contest 2006 for Finland. The album has sold triple platinum in Finland and gold in Sweden. Although the album cover shows OX, it was Kalma who played bass guitar on the album.


“The Arockalypse” has many guest-stars on its tracks: Dee Snider and Jay Jay French from Twisted Sister, Udo Dirkschneider from Accept/U.D.O. and Bruce Kulick from Kiss. Before the album was released in Finland, there were rumours about other possible guest stars, including Sebastian Bach from Skid Row, Alice Cooper, King Diamond, Rob Zombie, and other members of Kiss, the latter being LORDI‘s greatest influence. In reality, only Sebastian Bach and Alice Cooper were ever asked to be guests on the album, but neither were able to make it.

Special edition

In November 2006, “The Arockalypse” was re-released in Finland as a “Special Edition”, which included three bonus tracks and a DVD. This version was also the first LORDI album to be released in the United States. “It Snows In Hell” was slightly remixed for this version, using instead the music video version, which had a different set of vocals in the opening.

Bonus tracks:

  • “Would You Love a Monsterman? (2006)”
  • “Mr. Killjoy”
  • “EviLove”



  • “Live At Market Square”, LORDI‘s homecoming gig in Finland after their Eurovision triumph.
  • “Hello Athens”, a series of short Finnish documentaries following LORDI up to the Eurovision Song Contest.
  • Music Videos for “Who’s Your Daddy?“, “Hard Rock Hallelujah“, and “Would You Love a Monsterman? (2006)”


In 2007, a limited edition of “The Arockalypse” was released on vinyl in the US, available in four versions: black, clear, blue with red splatter or clear with red splatter. The album consists of two records and includes all the tracks from the special edition release, as well as three live bonus tracks on side D: