12 Gauge

Kalmah - 12 Gauge
  • Album Info
  • 2010
  • Spinefarm Records
  1. Rust Never Sleeps
  2. One Of Fail
  3. Bullets Are Blind
  4. Swampwar
  5. Better Not To Tell
  6. Hook The Monster
  7. Godeye
  8. 12 Gauge
  9. Sacramentum
  10. Cold Sweat


12 Gauge is the sixth studio album by the Finnish melodic death metal band Kalmah, released on March 3, 2010. The album was recorded with more thrash metal elements than their previous releases, while the melodies that the band is known for and environmental themes regarding the swamps of Finland were retained. 12 Gauge was recorded in three sessions over a three-month period at Tico-Tico Studios in Finland.

Each of the band members kept in touch with their fans by keeping track of their recording sessions online at the official website’s studio diary. In addition, guitarist Antti Kokko videotaped the recording and photo shoot sessions. Seven videos were posted online during the months leading up to the album’s release. Promotion for the album was otherwise minimal. There were no official singles, but the track “Bullets Are Blind” was released on a 2-CD compilation included with Soundi magazine’s 35th anniversary issue, and a music video to the album’s title track was produced and posted online.

12 Gauge received generally favorable reviews by European and American critics, with a few considering it better than either of its immediate predecessors, For the Revolution and The Black Waltz. It was agreed that the band succeeded in producing a thrashier album, but most critics found the music to be less sophisticated than the band’s previous efforts. 12 Gauge charted in two countries, peaking at number 32 in Canada and number 15 in the band’s homeland. Because the band had not been offered a worldwide tour, support for the album would be limited to Europe and Canada.