Jess and the Ancient Ones (Self-Titled)

Jess and the Ancient Ones
  • Album Info
  • 2012
  • Svart Records

1. Prayer For Death And Fire

2. Twilight Witchcraft

3. Sulfur Giants (Red King)

4. Ghost Riders

5. 13th Breath Of The Zodiac

6. The Devil (In G Minor)

7. Come Crimson Death

This seven-headed entity was given birth by Thomas Corpse and Thomas Fiend, its purpose being the exploration of magical realms beyond the mundane. The band’s lyrical concept is based upon the personal occult experiences of the writers, which combined with music the creates a strong mystical atmosphere. With the vocal talent Jess as their frontwoman and three guitars in the lineup, JATAO draw inspiration from heavy metal and rock groups of the classic era, such as Mercyful Fate, Roky Erickson, Iron Maiden and Abba. The album was recorded in December by Necromorbus Studio, known for their previous work with bands such as Watain. The result of these sessions is the eponymous album, a 53 minute moonlight ride into the nether regions of progressive occult heavy rock.