Self Destruction Blues

Self Destruction Blues
  • Album Info
  • 1982
  • Johanna Kustannus / Lick Records

1. Love’s An Injection
2. I Want You
3. Café Avenue
4. Nothing New
5. Kill City Kills
6. Self Destruction Blues
7. Beer And A Cigarette
8. Whispers In The Dark
9. Taxi Driver
10. Desperados
11. Problem Child
12. Dead By X-Mas

2013 Japanese remastered edition:

13. In The Year ’79 (It’s Too Late)
14. Love’s An Injection (demo)
15. Black Sabbath (featuring Razzle on vocals & Michael on drums) (BLACK SABBATH cover)

Self Destruction Blues is the third album by the Finnish rock band Hanoi Rocks, released in 1982. Although often listed as a studio album, Self Destruction Blues is a compilation of singles and B-sides that the band recorded in 1981 and 1982. None of the tracks on Self Destruction Blues, however, appear on their previous albums. Guns N’ Roses were rumoured to record a cover version of “Beer and a Cigarette” for their 1993 release “The Spaghetti Incident?”. Of note is the fact that although Gyp Casino appears on the LP, his replacement Razzle actually appears on the cover.

“Dead By X-Mas” has been covered by the Japanese hardcore band The Piass in 1994, the US punk band The Hillstreet Stranglers in 2005, US punk band The Murder City Devils, the British electro group Sohodolls in 2007 and the Finnish rockabilly band Big Daddy & Rockin’ Combo in 2008.