Children of the Dark Waters

  • Album Info
  • 2009
  • Suomen Musiikki, Massacre Records
  1. Angelheart, Ravenheart (Act II: Children Of The Dark Waters)
  2. Baptized By The Blood Of Angels
  3. Tears Of Autumn Rain
  4. Summon The Wild
  5. Sea Of Whispers
  6. Midnight Bird
  7. Diary Of Demonic Dreams
  8. When The Darkest Night Falls
  9. Nocturne Thule
  10. Sea Of Whispers (Acoustic Reprise)


Children of the Dark Waters is the sixth studio album by Finnish symphonic death metal band Eternal Tears of Sorrow. It was released in May 2009 through Suomen Musiikki for Finland, Massacre Records for the rest of Europe and Marquee/Avalon Records for Asia. It is the second album to feature Jarmo Kylmänen on clean vocals, but his first album as an official member.

The album is in the same vein as Before the Bleeding Sun, but darker. “Angelheart, Ravenheart (Act II: Children of the Dark Waters)” is the second part of “Angelheart, Ravenheart (Act I: Before the Bleeding Sun)” from Before the Bleeding Sun. On the UK Amazon edition “Vilda Mánnu” is replaced by “Sea of Whispers (Acoustic Reprise)” as a bonus track.

The album’s first single was “Tears of Autumn Rain” released in Finland on February 18 and featured vocals by Miriam Renvåg (Ram-Zet) and Heidi Parviainen (Amberian Dawn). The B-side of the single is a reworked version of “Vilda Mánnu” from the self-titled album, Vilda Mánnu. The album was mixed at Finnvox Studios (Helsinki, Finland) in March and April 2009 by Mikko Karmila and like the previous five albums, it was recorded at Tico-Tico Studios in Kemi. Lead guitarist Risto Ruuth left the band right before the release of the album, and was replaced by Mika Lammassaari (from Mors Subita).