The Secrets of the Black Arts

  • Album Info
  • 1996
  • No Fashion Records

1. The Dark Age Has Arrived
2. The Secrets Of The Black Arts
3. My Dark Desires
4. The Dawn No More Rises
5. When Angels Forever Die
6. The Fire Eternal
7. Satans Mayhem
8. Shadows Over Transylvania
9. Bloodfrozen
10. Satanic Blood
11. Dark Are The Path’s To Eternity


The Secrets of the Black Arts is the debut album by Dark Funeral, released on January 28, 1996, by No Fashion Records. It was re-released on July 31, 2007, with a bonus disc consisting of the album original recording (digitally re-mixed in April 2007).

The only album to feature guitarist Blackmoon, vocalist/bassist Themgoroth and drummer Equimanthorn.

The original recording (January 15-21, 1995) was produced by Dan Swanö at Unisound Studios. According to Blackmoon, he insisted that they re-record the album due to “severely unprofessional production and manner from Mr. Swanö”. He continued, “He was overworked and mentally tired when we came to the studio. Also, our then-drummer was not playing as good as he should have. So it ended up crap.” The rest of the band was satisfied with the recording, but Blackmoon refused to release the album with that recording. They decided on The Abyss Studio and recorded the album that was eventually released to the public.

A music video was shot for “The Secrets of the Black Arts”.