CMX - Talvikuningas
  • Album Info
  • 2007
  • Herodes, EMI

1. Kaikkivaltias
2. Resurssikysymys
3 . Pretoriaanikyborgit
4. Vallan haamut
5. Tähtilaivan kapteeni
6. Kosmologisen vakion laulu
7. Parvatin tietäjä
8. Punainen komentaja
9. Langennut valo
10. Quanta
11. Rusalkai
12. Kaikkivaltiaan peili


Talvikuningas is an album by the Finnish rock group CMX. The title is Finnish and translates to “The Winter King”.

Talvikuningas is CMX’s first concept album. Although the CD is divided into 12 tracks, they flow seamlessly into each other and the record is effectively one long song.

The first limited edition of 8 000 copies of Talvikuningas was released on September 5, 2007. This limited printing features special packaging and a 40-page booklet, which contains extensive artwork and the full libretto to the album. Digital downloads of Talvikuningas became available the same day. A regular CD version with ordinary jewel case packaging and reduced liner notes was released on 9 January 2008.

The album tells the same story as A. W. Yrjänä’s yet-unfinished book. It’s an epic science fiction story taking place in the 25th century. The album’s sections are pieces of the saga of the Winter King. Some previous CMX songs, like Mekaanisten lintujen Puisto (The park of mechanical birds) and Sivu paholaisen päiväkirjasta (A page of the Devil’s diary) can be linked to the story.