King Of The Grey Islands

  • Album Info
  • 2007
  • Nuclear Blast
  1. Prologue
  2. Emperor Of The Void
  3. Devil Seed
  4. Of Stars And Smoke
  5. Demonia 6
  6. Destroyer
  7. Man Of Shadows
  8. Clearsight
  9. The Opal City
  10. Embracing The Styx
  11. At The Gallows End (With Rob Lowe)
  12. Solitude (With Rob Lowe)


King of the Grey Islands is the ninth studio album by Swedish doom metal band Candlemass released on 22 June 2007. This is the first album recorded following the departure of vocalist Messiah Marcolin, who left the band during the pre-production phase of the album. He was replaced by Robert Lowe, who would stay with the band until his departure in June 2012.

A digipak version contains two bonus studio session tracks with Robert Lowe. The album was also released as a double vinyl LP with the bonus track “Edgar Grey”. A tin box set edition (limited to 500 copies) was also released, which included a bonus 3″ CD with two bonus tracks: “Black Dwarf” and “Demonia 6 (early version)”. “Black Dwarf” is a re-recording with Lowe on vocals. These songs also appear on the “Black Dwarf” 7″.

Upon its release, the album was met with widespread acclaim from both critics and fans.