Dactylis Glomerata

  • Album Info
  • 1998
  • Music For Nations
  1. Wiz
  2. I Still See The Black
  3. Dustflow
  4. Karthago
  5. Abstract Sun
  6. Apathy
  7. Lidocain God
  8. Soothe Me Into Oblivion


Dactylis Glomerata is the sixth studio album by Swedish doom metal band Candlemass, released in 1998. This was their first album released since their split in 1994.

The album was originally destined to be the second release by Candlemass main songwriter Leif Edling’s side-project Abstrakt Algebrabut, under request from the record label Music for Nations, it was converted in a Candlemass album. There were many musicians involved in the long process of recording, including members of the Abstrakt Algebra’s line-up, guitarist Michael Amott of Arch Enemyand Carcass fame and new singer Bj√∂rn Flodkvist.

The music on the album lacks much of the epic doom sound of previous works and embraces a more experimental and progressive approach, with elements of stoner rock and space rock.

In 2006, it was reissued by GMR Music as a 2 CD edition. The second disc contains the previously unreleased album Abstrakt Algebra II, from which this album’s tracks derived.