Lady in Gold

Blues Pills - Lady In Gold
  • Album Info
  • 2016
  • Nuclear Blast

1. Lady in Gold
2. Little Boy Preacher
3. Burned Out
4. I Felt a Change
5. Gone So Long
6. Bad Talkers
7. You Gotta Try
8. Won’t Go Back
9. Rejection
10. Elements and Things


Lady in Gold is the second studio album by Swedish rock band Blues Pills. It was released on August 5, 2016 by Nuclear Blast Records. 

Lady in Gold consists of ten tracks including a cover of Tony Joe White’s “Elements and Things” from the 1969 album “…Continued”.

In late 2015, the band started writing and preparing for their second album—their first with new drummer André Kvarnström. In November 2015, Elin Larsson posted a photo to the band Facebook page of her recording the vocals for the second album. The band then went on a two-month Europe tour between February to April 2016 before finalising the work for the second album.

On 22 April 2016, Blues Pills announced the title of the album and the ten track set-list via their Facebook page. Vocalist and co-songwriter Elin Larsson commented: “Lady gold is a character who symbolizes death. We wanted a twist on the typical stereotype of death being the grim reaper. So instead we made her a lady in gold.” The band were happy to reveal that Don Alsterberg (Graveyard, Division of Laura Lee and Jerry Williams) once again took the production role of the album.

Bassist, founding member and main songwriter Zach Anderson commented on the artwork of the album: “The design comes from the dutch artist Marijke Koger-Dunham who already worked with us for the first album cover. We are super proud to have the opportunity to work again with such a legendary artist who has even worked with The Beatles, Cream and many more. The original design was made by her 50 years ago. We worked together to adapt the colors to fit the mood of the album. Hopefully our fans will like it as much as we do.”