At War with Reality

  • Album Info
  • 2014
  • Century Media Records

1. El Altar Del Dios Desconocido
2. Death And The Labyrinth
3. At War With Reality
4. The Circular Ruins
5. Heroes And Tombs
6. The Conspiracy Of The Blind
7. Order From Chaos
8. The Book Of Sand (The Abomination)
9. The Head Of The Hydra
10. City Of Mirrors
11. Eater Of Gods
12. Upon Pillars Of Dust
13. The Night Eternal


At War with Reality is the fifth studio album by Swedish melodic death metal band At the Gates, released on 28 October 2014.

It is the band’s first album since Slaughter of the Soul (1995), marking the longest gap between two studio albums in their career, though the reason for this length of time was the band’s previous break up and for many years despite their eventual reunion, they initially had no plans to record another album.

It was also their first release on Century Media Records.

It is a concept album based on the literary genre of magic realism. At War with Reality received positive reviews from music critics, and music videos were released for “Death and the Labyrinth”, “Heroes and Tombs”, The Book of Sand (The Abomination)” and “The Night Eternal”.

The album is the band’s last studio album to feature co-founding guitarist Anders Bj√∂rler, who had departed from the band in March 2017.