The Sham Mirrors

The Sham Mirrors
  • Album Info
  • 2002
  • Ad Astra Enterprises

1. Kinetic
2. Nightmare Heaven
3. Ad Absurdum
4. Collapsed Generation
5. Star-Crossed
6. Radical Cut
7. For to End Yet Again

The Sham Mirrors is the third studio album by Norwegian avant-garde metal band Arcturus. It was released on April 9, 2002.

The Sham Mirrors is a departure from the band’s previous albums; it features a much more modern, “outer space”-influenced sound, as opposed to the classical music-inspired layered melodies of 1997’s La Masquerade Infernale, and contains elements of trip hop, ambient music and electronica in addition to the band’s typical heavy and black metal sound. Lyrically, the album deals with abstract science fiction-themed subjects, a departure from the Satanic lyrics of earlier work. The album cover depicts a model drawing of the upper part of the Apollo spaceship.