Amorphis - Tuonela
  • Album Info
  • 1999
  • Nuclear Blast

1. The Way
2. Morning Star
3. Nightfall
4. Tuonela
5. Greed
6. Divinity
7. Shining
8. Withered
9. Rusty Moon
10. Summer’s End

Tuonela is the fourth full-length album by Finnish band Amorphis.

The album is named from Tuonela, the realm of the dead in Finnish mythology. The album also shares inspiration with many of the band’s productions in the text and themes of the Kalevala, or Finnish Epic.

The style is less progressive, like its predecessor, Elegy, but rather a stoner/doom metal record, with progressive metal/progressive rock elements, except few more progressive and rock-sounding songs including “Divinity” (which has a music video), “The Way“, “Summer’s End“, “Tuonela” and “Northern Lights“.

This album was the last release with original and long time bassist, Olli-Pekka Laine, who quit a year after this release in 2000, because of musical differences and to focus on his family.