The Karelian Isthmus

Amorphis - The Karelian Isthmus
  • Album Info
  • 1992
  • Relapse

1. Karelia
2. The Gathering
3. Grail’s Mysteries
4. Warriors Trial
5. Black Embrace
6. Exile of the Sons of Uisliu
7. The Lost Name of God
8. The Pilgrimage
9. Misery Path
10. Sign from the North Side

Although The Karelian Isthmus took its name from a historic Finnish battleground, Karelian Isthmus, its lyrics focus on Amorphis‘s well known epic themes from the history of Finnish warfare and religion, but drawing more from celtic mythology rather than the later traditions of Amorphis‘s own native land. The epic side is sometimes broken up by the occult lyrical themes in tracks including “Pilgrimage“, “Misery Path” and “Black Embrace“. In recent years, songs from this album have been receiving more play during Amorphis‘ live performances, despite being of a different style than their later works.

This release was the last recorded release to have the original lineup of the band as later on the band would have either additional members or original members quitting. Privilege of Evil was the last release with the original lineup, but it was recorded before this album. Both releases were combined in a 2003 reissue.