Tales from the Thousand Lakes

Amorphis - Tales From The Thousand Lakes
  • Album Info
  • 1994
  • Relapse

1. Thousand Lakes (instrumental)
2. Into Hiding
3. The Castaway
4. First Doom
5. Black Winter Day
6. Drowned Maid
7. In the Beginning
8. Forgotten Sunrise
9. To Father’s Cabin
10. Magic and Mayhem

Tales from the Thousand Lakes is the second full-length album by metal band Amorphis. It is a concept album, the lyrics are based on the Finnish national epic, Kalevala. While still predominantly death metal, the album shows a greater influence of doom metal than the band’s debut, along with more melodic, heavy metal-inspired riffing and elements of progressive rock and traditional Finnish folk music. The album also introduced synthesizers and clean vocals to the band’s sound, though the latter was used sparingly.

This is the first Amorphis release to have an official keyboardist, Kasper Mårtenson, as any previous of the band’s releases had the band’s own drummer, Jan Rechberger, provide the empty keyboardist role until the band decided to have a keyboardist and also to find one being Mårtenson. With Mårtenson in the band, it is the first time the band’s original lineup changed by having an additional member.

The album was an influential release in the development of the melodic death metal and folk metal genres.

The original limited version (on digipack) had a cover of “Light My Fire” by The Doors added as a bonus track. It was later re-released in 2001 with most tracks from the Black Winter Day EP and the “Light My Fire” cover added as bonus tracks.